IAS Gyan

Daily News Analysis

Food Vision 2050 prize for Naandi Foundation's Arakunomics

8th August, 2020 Society

Food Vision 2050 prize for Naandi Foundation's Arakunomics


  • Rockefeller Foundation has selected Naandi Foundation, Hyderabad-based non-profit, as one of the ‘Top 10 Visionaries’ in the world for the Food Vision 2050 Prize, announced in New York on August 6. The recognition fetches Naandi a prize money of $200,000.
  • Naandi’s vision titled “Arakunomics” was based on work with tribal farmers in Araku for nearly 20 years.


  • It is a new integrated economic model that ensures profits for farmers, quality for consumers through regenerative agriculture.
  • The economic model is a tribute to the tribal farmers of Araku region for the world class coffee produced and launched in Paris in 2017, as well as for the high carbon landscape transformation they did in over 955 villages, thereby planting 25 million trees.
  • Arakunomics success in Araku led to Naandi replicating the model to support the livelihoods of farming communities in the villages of Wardha – infamous for agrarian distress, as well as later in New Delhi, as part of an Urban Farms Co programme.
  • It hopes to expand its “food-print” by creating thousands of farm livelihoods by transforming their agriculture over one million acres spread across India.
  • Apart from trustees, bulk of Naandi’s investments have come from the CSR funds of the Mahindra Group of companies and long term grants from Paris-based Livelihoods Fund.
  • Established in 1998, it works in 19 States in India and has impacted seven million lives so far.

Rockefeller Foundation:

  • The Rockefeller Foundation is a private foundation based at 420 Fifth Avenue, New York City. It was established by the six-generation Rockefeller family.
  • The Foundation was started by Standard Oil owner John D. Rockefeller ("Senior"), along with his son John D. Rockefeller Jr. ("Junior"), and Senior's principal oil and gas business and philanthropic advisor, Frederick Taylor Gates, in New York State on May 14, 1913, when its charter was formally accepted by the New York State Legislature.