IAS Gyan

Daily News Analysis


27th September, 2023 History

Disclaimer: Copyright infringement not intended.


  • Veteran actor Waheeda Rehman to receive Dadasaheb Phalke Lifetime Achievement Award for her contribution to Indian cinema. 


Purpose and Significance

  • The Dadasaheb Phalke Award is India's highest honor in the realm of cinema.
  • It is presented annually at the National Film Awards ceremony by the Directorate of Film Festivals, a division of the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting.
  • The award acknowledges and celebrates individuals who have made an "outstanding contribution to the growth and development of Indian cinema."

Components of the Award

  • The award consists of several components, including a Swarna Kamal (Golden Lotus) medallion, a shawl, and a cash prize of ₹1,000,000 (approximately US$13,000).

Introduction and Commemoration

  • The Dadasaheb Phalke Award was first introduced in 1969 by the Government of India.
  • It was established to honor the memory and contributions of Dadasaheb Phalke, who is widely regarded as "the father of Indian cinema."
  • Dadasaheb Phalke directed India's first full-length feature film, "Raja Harishchandra," in 1913.


  • The first recipient of the award was actress Devika Rani, who was honored at the 17th National Film Awards.
  • As of 2023, there have been 53 awardees.
  • Notably, actor Prithviraj Kapoor (1971) and actor Vinod Khanna (2017) are the only posthumous recipients of the award.
  • There have been instances of siblings receiving the award in different years, such as B. N. Reddy (1974) and B. Nagi Reddy (1986), and Raj Kapoor (1987) and Shashi Kapoor (2014).


The Dadasaheb Phalke Award not only recognizes individual excellence in the Indian film industry but also pays tribute to the pioneer of Indian cinema, Dadasaheb Phalke, and his enduring legacy.


Q.   Which of the following statements about the Dadasaheb Phalke Award is/are correct?

1. The Dadasaheb Phalke Award is presented annually by the Indian President during the National Film Awards ceremony.

2. The award is given to individuals for their exceptional contributions to the growth and development of Indian cinema.

Options: A) Only Statement 1 is correct.

B) Only Statement 2 is correct.

C) Both Statement 1 and Statement 2 are correct.

D) Neither Statement 1 nor Statement 2 is correct.

Answer: C)