IAS Gyan

Daily News Analysis


13th February, 2024 Culture


Disclaimer: Copyright infringement not intended.


Sangeet Natak Akademi to have South India centre in Hyderabad.


The National Academy of Music, Dance, and Drama


  • Established by the Indian education ministry on 31 May 1952, became functional the following year.
  • Inaugurated by Dr. Rajendra Prasad, the first President of India, on 28 January 1953.
  • Considered prestigious, with its Fellowship and Award.


  • Acts as the apex body for performing arts, preserving and promoting India's cultural heritage in music, dance, and drama.
  • Collaborates with governments and art academies across states and territories.
  • Established several institutions over the years, including Manipur Dance Academy and Kathak Kendra.


  • Subsidizes institutions engaged in teaching and promoting music, dance, or theatre.
  • Provides grants for research, documentation, and publishing in the performing arts.
  • Organizes seminars, conferences, and festivals to promote cultural exchange.
  • Advises and assists the government in formulating policies in the field of performing arts.


  • Audio–Visual Archive: Largest in the country, utilized for research on Indian performing arts.
  • Library: Houses about 22,000 books covering various subjects related to performing arts.
  • Gallery of Musical Instruments: Displays over 200 musical instruments.
  • Documentation Unit: Records works of masters in music, dance, and theatre for research purposes.
  • Awards and Fellowships: Recognizes excellence through awards like Sangeet Natak Akademi Award and Ustad Bismillah Khan Yuva Puraskar.

Awards and Recognitions:

  • Sangeet Natak Akademi Award: Highest national recognition for practicing artists, gurus, and scholars.
  • Sangeet Natak Akademi Fellowship (Ratna Sadsya): Conferred upon distinguished individuals for their contribution to arts, music, dance, and theatre.
  • Ustad Bismillah Khan Yuva Puraskar: Recognizes young artists under 40 years of age.
  • Tagore Ratna and Tagore Puraskar: Commemorating the 150th birth anniversary of Rabindranath Tagore.
  • Kala Deeksha Initiative: Carrying on Guru Shishya Parampara.

Indian Classical Dances:

  • SNA confers awards on nine Indian classical dance forms, including Bharatanatyam, Kathak, Kathakali, Kuchipudi, Manipuri, Mohiniattam, Odissi, Sattriya, and Chhau.


  • Lalit Kala Akademi: Equivalent national academy for visual arts.
  • Sahitya Akademi: Equivalent national academy for literature.


Q. Discuss the role played by Sangeet Natak Akademi in the preservation and promotion of diverse cultural heritage of the country. (15 marks)