IAS Gyan

Daily News Analysis


27th January, 2023 POLITY AND GOVERNANCE

Copyright infringement not intended


  • President of India conferred Padma awards 2023 at a civil investiture ceremony at Rashtrapati Bhavan.

About Padma Award:

  • The Padma Awards, which were instituted in the year 1954, are one of the highest civilian honours of India, announced annually on the eve of Republic Day.
  • The Awards are given in three categories:
    • ‘Padma Vibhushan' is awarded for exceptional and distinguished service.
    • ‘Padma Bhushan' for distinguished service of a high order.
    • 'Padma Shri' for distinguished service in any field.
  • The award seeks to recognize achievements in all fields of activities or disciplines where an element of public service is involved.
  • The Awards are given in various disciplines/ fields of activities; art, social work, public affairs, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, literature and education, sports, civil service, etc.
  • The Padma Awards are conferred on the recommendations made by the Padma Awards Committee, which is constituted by the Prime Minister every year.
  • The nomination process is open to the public. Even self-nomination can be made.
  • All persons without distinction of race, occupation, position or sex are eligible for these awards. However, Government servants including those working with PSUs, except doctors and scientists, are not eligible for these Awards.
  • The award is normally not conferred posthumously. However, in highly deserving cases, the Government could consider giving an award posthumously.
  • The awards are presented by the President of India usually in the month of March/April every year where the awardees are presented a Sanad (certificate) signed by the President and a medallion.
  • The recipients are also given a small replica of the medallion, which they can wear during any ceremonial/State functions etc. if the awardees so desire.
  • The total number of awards to be given in a year (excluding posthumous awards and to NRI/foreigners/OCIs) should not be more than 120.
    • For the year 2023, the President has approved the conferment of 106 Padma. The list comprises 6 Padma Vibhushan, 9 Padma Bhushan and 91 Padma Shri Awards.
  • The award does not amount to a title and cannot be used as a suffix or prefix to the awardees’ name.

Important Personalities in the list of Padma Award 2023:

  • Padma Vibhushan
    • Balkrishna Doshi (Posthumous) for Architecture.
    • Zakir Hussain for Art.
    • Mulayam Singh Yadav (Posthumous) for Public Affairs.
  • Padma Bhushan
    • Shri Kumar Mangalam Birla for Trade & Industry.
    • Sudha Murty for Social Work.
  • Padma Shri
    • Rakesh Radheshyam Jhunjhunwala (Posthumous) for Trade & Industry.
    • Raveena Ravi Tandon for Art.