IAS Gyan

Daily News Analysis

G20 Troika                               

2nd December, 2021 International Relations


  • Copyright infringement is not intended

Context: India has joined the G20 Troika, which consists of Indonesia, Italy, and India - the current, previous and incoming G20 Presidencies, respectively.

About G-20 trokia:

  • Indonesia assumed the G20 Presidency and will convene various G20 meetings throughout the year.
  • As a Troika-member, India will work closely with Indonesia and Italy to ensure consistency and continuity of the G20’s agenda.
  • India will assume the G20 Presidency on December 1, 2022 from Indonesia, and will convene the G20 Leaders’ Summit for the first time in India in 2023.

About G-20:

  • It is the premier forum for international economic cooperation, which reflects a recognition that global prosperity is interdependent and our economic opportunities and challenges are interlinked.
  • G20 countries have come together to better prepare for the future.
  • As a founding member of the G20, India has used the platform to raise issues of vital importance and those that impact on the most vulnerable around the world.
  • Apart from the G7 countries, the G20 comprises Argentina, Australia, Brazil, China, India, Indonesia, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, South Korea, and Turkey.
  • Together, the G20 countries make up around 80% of the world’s economy and two-thirds of the world’s population