IAS Gyan

Daily News Analysis



Copyright infringement not intended

Context: On April 27, Prime Minister will attend a programme commemorating the 20th anniversary of the SWAGAT initiative in Gujarat.



  • SWAGAT (State Wide Attention on Grievances through Application of Technology) is a tech-based grievance redressal programme.
  • It was launched by Prime Minister Narendra Modi in 2003 when he was the Chief Minister of Gujarat.
  • It acts as a bridge between the citizens and the government using technology by solving their day-to-day grievances in a quick, efficient and time-bound manner.
  • It allows the common man to address his problems directly to the Chief Minister.
  • Every month on the 4th Thursday, the Chief Minister meets with citizens to discuss their grievances.


  • Serve as a technological bridge between citizens and the government by resolving their day-to-day grievances in a timely, efficient, and effective manner.
  • Resolving problems in a paperless, transparent, and hassle-free manner.

Working Model

  • The SWAGAT Online Programme has four components:
    • State SWAGAT
    • District SWAGAT
    • Taluka SWAGAT
    • Gram SWAGAT
  • The Chief Minister attends public hearings during State SWAGAT.
  • The District Collector is in charge of District SWAGAT.
  • The Mamlatdar and a Class-1 Officer head the Taluka SWAGAT.
  • In Gram SWAGAT, citizens file the application from the 1st to the 10th of every month to the Talati/Mantri.
  • A Lok Fariyad program is also operational for citizens wherein they file their grievances at the SWAGAT Unit.


  • SWAGAT has brought about a transformative impact in the lives of people and has become an effective tool to solve woes in a paperless, transparent and hassle-free manner.
  • It has enhanced ease of living by ensuring grievance redressal in a quick, efficient and time-bound manner.
  • It has improved accountability and responsiveness of public service delivery.
  • All application proceedings are available online. Until now, more than 99% of all grievances have been settled.


  • SWAGAT has been recognised nationally and internationally as a best practice in e-governance. It won the United Nations Public Service Award in 2010 for improving transparency, accountability and responsiveness in public service.
  • It is a unique initiative that reflects the Prime Minister's vision of using technology to promote good governance and empower citizens. It is a model that can be replicated by other states and countries to improve public service delivery and citizen satisfaction.

Must Read Articles:

Grievance Appellate Committee: https://www.iasgyan.in/daily-current-affairs/grievance-appellate-committee

Department of Administrative Reforms & Public Grievances (DARPG): https://www.iasgyan.in/daily-current-affairs/department-of-administrative-reforms-and-public-grievances-darpg


Q. “SWAGAT initiative” was recently in the news, it is related to;

(A)    The welfare of Non-resident Indians (NRI)

(B)    Permitting foreign universities in India

(C)    Grievance redressal programme

(D)   Rescue Mission of Government of India in Sudan

Answer: C