IAS Gyan

Daily News Analysis


15th December, 2021 Agriculture


Disclaimer: Copyright infringement not intended.


  • The Supreme Court upheld the Government’s mandate to broaden three Himalayan highways, considered crucial by the Ministry of Defence (MoD) for quick troop build-up along the India-China border.



  • The three National Highways — Rishikesh to Mana, Rishikesh to Gangotri and Tanakpur to Pithoragarh — act as feeder roads to the northern border with China.
  • They are part of the Char Dham Highway project.


Char Dham

  • The Char Dham (meaning: four abodes) is a set of four pilgrimage sites in India.
  • The four Dhams are, Badrinath, Dwarka, Puri and Rameswaram.
  • The Char Dham as defined by Adi Shankaracharya consists of four Hindu pilgrimage sites.
  • Another small circuit in Uttarakhand of four pilgrimage sites-Yamunotri, Gangotri, Kedarnath, and Badrinath is referred to as Chota Char Dham.