IAS Gyan

Daily News Analysis

"Vasudhaiva Kutumbakam", Says PM at Assembly of World's Largest Fusion Reactor

30th July, 2020 Energy


  • Prime Minister at the International Thermonuclear Experimental Reactor (ITER) at the start of the ITER Assembly.

About the International Thermonuclear Experimental Reactor (ITER)

  • Energy project located in Cadarache, Southern France.
  • First fusion device to maintain fusion for long periods of time.
  • ITER will work on the “Tokamak” concept where the reaction of hydrogen isotopes Deuterium and Tritium produces energy by the mass-energy conversion principle, thereby proving to be a source of unlimited energy.
  • Launched in 1995
  • Consortium of 35 countries are developing it.
  • ITER members: European Union, China, India, USA, Japan, Russia and South Korea.
  • India formally joined the ITER Project in 2005.
  • The European Union being the host party contributes 45 per cent while the rest of the parties contribute nine per cent each.
  • Most of these contributions are through "in-kind" procurement of ITER components.
  • Indian Contribution:
    • Cryostat,
    • In vessel shields,
    • Contributions to the cooling water,
    • Cryogenic and cryo-distribution systems,
    • Auxiliary heating devices using rf and beam technologies,
    • Multi megawatt power supplies
    • Several diagnostics to help ITER