IAS Gyan

Daily News Analysis


12th September, 2023 Science and Technology

Disclaimer: Copyright infringement not intended.


  • The 2022 awards, announced during the inaugural session of the Council of Scientific & Industrial Research (CSIR) — National Institute of Science Communication and Policy Research’s (NIScPR) One Week One Lab Programme on September 11, 2023, featured twelve male scientists across different fields of science 


  • The Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize (SSB) for Science and Technology is a prestigious annual award in India that recognizes outstanding contributions in various scientific disciplines.
  • Here is a summary of the awardees and their accomplishments:

Biological Sciences

  1. Ashwani Kumar (CSIR-Institute of Microbial Technology, Chandigarh): Recognized for his research on biofilm-induced infections involving cellulose, particularly in Mycobacterium tuberculosis biofilms.
  2. Maddika Subba Reddy (Laboratory of Cell Death and Cell Survival, Centre for DNA Fingerprinting Diagnostics, Hyderabad): Awarded for his contributions to understanding the functions of phosphatases in regulating cellular protein-sorting pathways.

Chemical Sciences

  1. Akkattu T Biju (Indian Institute of Science): Acknowledged for his work on synthesizing biologically important heterocyclic and carbocyclic compounds, which have applications in various biological fields.
  2. Debabrata Maiti (Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay): Awarded for his research in preparing value-added materials through the transformation of organic molecules, with potential applications in agrochemical and pharmaceutical industries.

Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean, and Planetary Sciences

  1. Vimal Mishra (Water and Climate Laboratory, Indian Institute of Technology, Gandhinagar): Recognized for his work on studying the impact of anthropogenic and natural factors on hydrological extremes and water resources in India, including research on groundwater depletion in the Ganga basin.

Engineering Sciences

  1. Dipti Ranjan Sahoo (Department of Civil Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi): Awarded for his contributions in seismic design and mitigation of seismic effects on buildings and bridges.
  2. Rajnish Kumar (Department of Chemical Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology, Madras): Acknowledged for his fundamental research in methane recovery from marine gas hydrates, with implications for energy resource exploration.


  1. Apoorva Khare (Indian Institute of Science): Recognized for his achievements in mathematics.
  2. Neeraj Kayal (Microsoft Research Lab India): Awarded for his contributions to mathematics.

Medical Sciences

  1. Dipyaman Ganguli (CSIR-Indian Institute of Chemical Biology): Acknowledged for his research on autoimmunity and metaflammation, which involves the immune system attacking the body's own cells and tissues, often associated with obesity-induced inflammation.

Physical Sciences

  1. Anindya Das (Indian Institute of Science): Recognized for his work on the electric and thermoelectrical properties of strongly interacting 2-D atomically thin materials.
  2. Basudeb Dasgupta (Tata Institute of Fundamental Research): Awarded for his research on coherent interactions of neutrinos in dense astrophysical environments and the nature of dark matter.

About the Purushkar

The Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology (SSB) is one of the most prestigious awards in India for notable and outstanding research in various scientific fields.

Purpose and Significance

  • The SSB prize is awarded annually by the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) to recognize remarkable research contributions in the fields of biology, chemistry, environmental science, engineering, mathematics, medicine, and physics.
  • It is considered the most coveted award in multidisciplinary science in India.

Name and History

  • The award is named after Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar, who was the founder Director of the Council of Scientific & Industrial Research (CSIR).
  • The SSB prize was first awarded in 1958.

Eligibility and Criteria

  • Any Indian citizen engaged in research in science and technology is eligible for the prize.
  • The recipient should be up to the age of 45 years at the time of receiving the award.
  • The prize is awarded based on contributions made through work done in India during the five years preceding the year of the prize.

Prize Components

  • The SSB prize includes a citation, a plaque, and a cash award of ₹5 lakh (approximately US$6,300).
  • In addition to the cash award, recipients also receive a monthly stipend of Rs. 15,000 up to the age of 65 years.

Nomination and Selection

  • Candidates for the SSB prize are proposed by various individuals and organizations, including members of the CSIR governing body, Vice-Chancellors of universities or institutes of national importance, deans of different science faculties, and former awardees.
  • An Advisory Committee is constituted each year to make the selection. This committee consists of at least six experts, including at least one former Bhatnagar Awardee in the respective discipline.
  • At least a two-thirds agreement among the committee members is required for the selection of an awardee.
  • In cases where two nominees receive unanimous recommendations in the same field due to equal merit, both are awarded.


  • The SSB prize is divided into seven disciplines: Biological Sciences, Chemical Sciences, Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean, and Planetary Sciences, Engineering Sciences, Mathematical Sciences, Medical Sciences, and Physical Sciences.
  • Each discipline can have multiple winners, with a maximum of two individuals awarded in each.

Prize Money Increase

  • The prize money was initially ₹2 lakh (approximately US$2,500) and was later increased to ₹5 lakh (approximately US$6,300) in 2008.


  • The names of the SSB prize recipients are traditionally declared on September 26th, which is celebrated as the CSIR Foundation Day.
  • The prize is distributed by the Prime Minister of India, and the awardee is expected to give a lecture in the area of their award, typically outside their city of work.


The Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology serves as a recognition of outstanding scientific contributions and encourages further research and innovation in India. It is a testament to the commitment and dedication of Indian scientists in advancing knowledge and technology in various fields.


Q. Which discipline is NOT covered by the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize?

a. Mathematics

b. Environmental Science

c. Economics

d. Chemistry

Answer: c