IAS Gyan

Daily News Analysis


14th March, 2023 MISCELLANEOUS

Copyright infringement not intended

Context: On March 12, 2023, the 95th Academy Awards ceremony was held in Los Angeles to recognise movies released in 2022. Jimmy Kimmel, a stand-up comedian hosted the ceremony.

List of Winners

  • The movie "Everything Everywhere All At Once" won about seven Oscars. The movie portrays a Chinese immigrant getting involved in a grand adventure where she must protect many selves in parallel universes from the evil force wishing to ruin the multiverse.
  • The first award of the evening was given to "Pinocchio" for "Best Animated," making director Guillermo del Toro the first person in Oscar history to win Best Picture, Best Director, and Best Animated Feature.
  • The star of "Everything Everywhere All At Once," Ke Huy Quan, won the Oscar for "Best Supporting Actor" in 2023.
  • The Oscar for Best Documentary Short Film went to India's "The Elephant Whisperers".
  • The "Naatu Naatu" song from the "RRR" movie won the Oscar award for the Best Music (Original Song) category.




Best Picture


“Everything Everywhere All at Once” (Daniel Kwan, Daniel Scheinert and Jonathan Wang, producers)

Best Director


Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert, “Everything Everywhere All at Once”

Best Actress


Michelle Yeoh, “Everything Everywhere All at Once”

Best Actor

Brendan Fraser, “The Whale”

Best Supporting Actress


Jamie Lee Curtis, “Everything Everywhere All at Once”

Best Supporting Actor

Ke Huy Quan, “Everything Everywhere All at Once”

Original Screenplay


“Everything Everywhere All at Once” (Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert)

Original Song


“Naatu Naatu,” by M.M. Keeravaani and Chandrabose (“RRR”)

Animated Short


“The Boy, the Mole, the Fox and the Horse” (Charlie Mackesy and Matthew Freud)

Costume Design

“Black Panther: Wakanda Forever” (Ruth E. Carter)

Visual Effects


“Avatar: The Way of Water” (Joe Letteri, Richard Baneham, Eric Saindon and Daniel Barrett)

Documentary Feature


“Navalny” (Daniel Roher, Odessa Rae, Diane Becker, Melanie Miller and Shane Boris)

Documentary Short


“The Elephant Whisperers” (Kartiki Gonsalves and Guneet Monga)