IAS Gyan

Daily News Analysis


18th December, 2023 MISCELLANEOUS


Copyright infringement not intended

Picture Courtesy: TheHindu

Context: Professor Savita Ladage from the Homi Bhabha Centre for Science Education, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR), has been awarded the prestigious Royal Society of Chemistry's (RSC) Nyholm Prize for Education in recognition of her outstanding contributions to chemistry education.

About Nyholm Prize

  • Professor Savita Ladage received the Royal Society of Chemistry’s Nyholm Prize for Education is a significant recognition of her exceptional contributions to chemistry education.
    • Professor Ladage's primary focus on advocating the significance of chemical education has been instrumental.
    • Her efforts extend to mentoring chemistry educators and leading various programs benefiting teachers and students in advancing chemistry education across India.
  • The Royal Society of Chemistry's Nyholm Prize acknowledges her remarkable dedication to chemistry education. It places her among a group of esteemed individuals who have made significant contributions to the field.
  • The award, comprising £5,000, a medal, and a certificate, reflects her outstanding commitment and influence in this domain.


  • The Nyholm Prize celebrates exceptional individuals contributing to various levels of education in the chemical sciences. This recognition extends to teachers, technicians, and others involved in shaping and advancing education in chemistry.


Q. Who was awarded the Royal Society of Chemistry's Nyholm Prize for Education?

A) Professor Savita Ladage

B) Dr. Helen Pain

C) Dr. Carolyn Bertozzi

D) Professor John B. Goodenough

Answer: A

Explanation: Professor Savita Ladage was recognized with the Nyholm Prize for Education for her exceptional contributions to chemistry education.