IAS Gyan

Daily News Analysis



Copyright infringement not intended

Context: The new building, which is part of the Central Vista Redevelopment Project, will replace the existing structure that has served as the seat of India's democracy since independence. The new building will be inaugurated by Prime Minister and Lok Sabha Speaker in the presence of other dignitaries and guests on 28 May 2023.


Central Vista Redevelopment Project

  • It aims to revamp and modernize the area, which includes iconic buildings such as Rashtrapati Bhavan (presidential palace), North and South Block (ministerial offices), Rajpath (ceremonial boulevard) and India Gate (war memorial).
  • The project also envisages the construction of a new residence for the Vice President, a new office and residence for the Prime Minister and a common central secretariat for all ministries.
  • The project has also faced some criticism from various quarters over its cost, timing and impact on heritage and environment. However, the Supreme Court of India cleared the project in January 2021 with some riders for environmental concerns.

Some of the key features of the new parliament building are:

  • It is designed by architect Bimal Patel and constructed by Tata Projects Ltd.
  • It has a built-up area of around 65,000 square meters and can accommodate up to 1,272 members of parliament in its two chambers: the Lok Sabha (lower house) and the Rajya Sabha (upper house).
    • It has 888 seats for the Lok Sabha members and 384 seats for the Rajya Sabha members, with provision for future expansion.
  • It also has a grand Constitution Hall, a library, committee rooms, offices and other facilities.
  • It is expected to enhance the efficiency and functionality of the parliament and provide more space and amenities for the members and their staff.
  • It is designed to be environmentally friendly and energy efficient, with features such as rainwater harvesting, solar panels, waste management and natural ventilation 


  • The new parliament building is not just a physical structure, but a symbol of India's democratic spirit and aspirations. It represents India's rich heritage, culture and diversity, as well as its commitment to upholding the values of the Constitution. The new building will also serve as a reminder of India's glorious past, present and future as a vibrant democracy.


Q. Consider the following statements.

1. According to the Constitution of India, the Parliament of India is composed of the Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha only.

2. The Rajya Sabha has a maximum strength of 250 members.

3. A member of the Rajya Sabha is elected for a term of five years.

Which of the following Statement is/are incorrect?

(A) 1 and 2 only

(B) 2 and 3 only

(C) 1 and 3 only

(D) 1, 2 and 3

Answer: C


Statement 1 is incorrect: According to the Constitution of India, the Parliament of India is a bicameral legislature composed of the President and the two Houses - Rajya Sabha (Council of States) and Lok Sabha (House of the People). 

Statement 2 is correct: The Rajya Sabha has a maximum strength of 250 members, out of which 238 are elected by the state and union territory legislatures and 12 are nominated by the President for their contributions to art, literature, science and social services.

Statement 3 is incorrect: A member of the Rajya Sabha is elected for a term of six years. One-third of the members retire every two years and fresh elections are held to fill up the vacancies.