IAS Gyan

Daily News Analysis


23rd November, 2023 MISCELLANEOUS


Copyright infringement not intended

Picture Courtesy: Indian Express

Context: Vir Das winning the Emmy for Best Comedy for "Vir Das: Landing" at the 51st International Emmy Awards and Ekta Kapoor receiving the Directorate Award for outstanding contributions to international television truly underscores their immense talent and impact on the global TV industry.

Emmy Awards

  • The Emmy Awards are a set of prestigious honours specifically for television and emerging media. They're distinct from film-focused awards like the Oscars and Golden Globes.
  • The Emmys were first conceptualized in 1948 and held their inaugural ceremony on January 25, 1949, presenting six awards including Most Outstanding Television Personality and Most Popular Television Program.

The various kinds of Emmy Awards recognize different sectors within television:

  • Primetime Emmy Awards: Administered by the Television Academy, these honour American TV shows aired during primetime.
  • International Emmy Awards: Recognize excellence in international television programs outside the United States.
  • Daytime Emmy Awards: Awarded to American shows aired during late-morning and afternoon time slots.
  • Sports, News, and Documentary Emmy Awards: Overseen by the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, these categories focus on excellence in sports, news, and documentary programming.
  • Technology and Engineering Emmy Awards: Recognize achievements in technological advancements within the television industry.
  • Regional Emmy Awards: Celebrate excellence in regional television markets, including local news, state-to-state programming, and locally produced shows.

These awards are presented by three distinct organizations:

  • The Television Academy administers the Primetime Emmy Awards.
  • The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences oversees daytime, sports, news, and documentary categories.
  • The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences is responsible for the International Emmys.

List of Emmy Awards 2023 winners:

  • Best Actress: Karla Souza in La Caida (Dive)
  • Best Actor: Martin Freeman in The Responder
  • Best Comedy: Vir Das for Vir Das: Landing and Derry Girls season 3
  • Best TV Movie/Mini-Series: La Caida [Dive]
  • Best Non-Scripted Entertainment: A Ponte - The Bridge Brasil
  • Best Short-Form Series: Des Gens Bien Ordinaires [A Very Ordinary World]
  • Best Factual And Entertainment For Kids: Built To Survive
  • Best Documentary: Mariupol: The People's Story
  • Best Sports Documentary: Harley and Katya
  • Best Arts Programming: Buffy Sainte-Marie: Carry It On
  • Best Telenovela: Yargi [Family Secrets]
  • Best Animation for Kids: The Smeds and The Smoos


Q. Which Indian was included in the list of the winners of the 51st International Emmy Awards?

A) Sunjay Dutt

B) Arijit Singh

C) Vir Das

D) Kapil Sharma

Answer: C