IAS Gyan

Daily News Analysis


9th March, 2024 International News


Copyright infringement not intended

Picture Courtesy: https://nextshark.com/japanese-architect-riken-yamamoto-pritzker-prize-2024

Context: Riken Yamamoto, a Japanese architect, has been awarded the 2024 Pritzker Architecture Prize, frequently referred to as the "Architecture Nobel."

Pritzker Architecture Prize

  • Jay A. Pritzker and his wife Cindy established the Pritzker Architecture Prize in 1979.
  • It is a globally recognised award presented annually to honour the achievements of a living architect or architect. It is frequently referred to as the "Nobel Prize of Architecture,"
  • It aims to recognise architects whose work displays talent, vision, dedication, and a consistent impact on both humans and the built environment.
  • The winner receives a cash award of $100,000, a certificate, and a bronze medal. The medal includes designs influenced by architect Louis Sullivan.
  • Balkrishna Doshi is the only Indian architect to have received the award (2018).
  • In 2024, Riken Yamamoto, a 79-year-old Japanese architect, was awarded the Pritzker Architecture Prize. He became the ninth Japanese laureate to receive the prize.

Key Highlights of the Yamamoto's Work

  • Yamamoto prioritizes creating surroundings that benefit families and communities in his projects. This is visible in his use of open floor plans, common spaces, and availability of natural light, which promote connection and a sense of belonging.
  • His creativity is defined by its focus on openness and visibility. He generally employed open layouts and glass to create a sense of connection between the building's inhabitants and their surroundings.
  • He believes that architecture has the potential to mitigate social isolation. His designs encouraged interaction and a sense of belonging. His design emphasizes open floor plans, shared areas, and an abundance of natural light, all of which encourage people to connect.
  • His unique approach to architecture has earned him the nickname of "The Misfit."


Q. Which of the following architects received the Pritzker Architecture Prize 2024?

A)  Toyo Ito

B)  Riken Yamamoto

C)  Zaha Hadid

D)  Frank Gehry

Answer: B