IAS Gyan

Daily News Analysis


13th December, 2021 Culture and Heritage

Copyright infringement not intended.



  • Ministry of Tourism under its Dekho Apna Desh Initiative organised a webinar on ‘Jyotirlingam Temples of Maharashtra’.


  • A Jyotirlinga or Jyotirlingam, is a devotional representation of the Hindu god Shiva.
  • There are 64 original Jyotirlinga shrines in India and Nepal, 12 of which are most sacred and they are called the Maha Jyotirlingam.
  • The five Jyotirlingas of Maharashtra are Aundha Nagnath, Bhimashankar, Ghrishneshwar, Parali Vajinath, and Trimbakeshwar.
  • Trimbakeshwar Jyotirlingam is located about 28 km South West of Nashik and it is also one of four places where Sinhastha Fair (Kumbh Mela) is held which draws people from all over India.
  • Surrounded by thick dense forest, Bhimashankar is a major pilgrim place.

  • Out of 12 Jyotirlingas, the southernmost of these is located at Rameswaram in Tamil Nadu while the northernmost is located in the Himalayas at Kedarnath in Uttarkhand