IAS Gyan

Daily News Analysis


20th July, 2022 Social Issues

Copyright infringement not intended


In News

  • The Union Government is considering the proposal for granting “tribal” status to the Trans-Giri region of Himachal Pradesh’s Sirmaur district.
  • The demand to declare the Trans-Giri region as a tribal area is old, and the demand is linked with another demand for Scheduled Tribe (ST) status for the Hatti community which lives in the Trans-Giri region.
  • The list of Major STs in Himachal Pradesh includes;
    • Gaddis
    • Gujjars
    • Kinnaras (Kinnauras)
    • Lahaulas
    • Pangwalas, and some other smaller tribes.
  • The bulk of the tribal population lives in remote, high-altitude areas in the districts of Lahaul, Spiti, Kinnaur, and Chamba.
  • The tribal population of the state was 3.92 lakh (about 6% of the total) in 2011.


Hatti community

  • The Hattis are a close-knit community.
  • Harris people take their name from their traditional occupation of selling home-grown crops, vegetables, meat, and wool at small-town markets known as ‘haats’.
  • Hatti men traditionally dress in distinctive white headgear on ceremonial occasions.
  • In Himachal Pradesh, Hattis people live in 154 panchayat areas, and according to the 2011 census; members of the community are around 2.5 lakh.
    • The present-day population of the Hattis is around 3 lakh.
  • They live near the Himachal-Uttarakhand border area in the basin of the Giri and Tons rivers, both these rivers are tributaries of the Yamuna.
  • The Tons River marks the border between the two states.
    • Hattis live in the Trans-Giri area in Himachal Pradesh and Jaunsar Bawar in Uttarakhand.
    • Both have a similar tradition, and inter-marriages are common among them.
  • A rigid caste system operates in the community;
    • The Bhat and Khash are so-called upper castes people.
    • The Badhois are so-called lower caste people.
    • Inter-caste marriages between these 2 castes are discouraged.
  • The Hattis people are governed by a traditional council called ‘khumbli’ which is similar to the ‘khaps’ of Haryana, they decide community matters.


 Tribal Area

  • The Indian Constitution states two types of areas:
    • Scheduled Areas in terms of the 5th Schedule of the Constitution.
    • Tribal Areas in terms of 6th Schedule.
  • “The “Tribal Areas” are also mentioned under Article 244(2) of the Constitution.
  • For declaration of Scheduled Areas, the criteria followed are:
    • The predominance of the tribal population.
    • Closeness and reasonable size of the area.
    • Presence of a viable administrative unit such as a district, block or taluk.
    • Economic backwardness of the area as compared to neighboring areas.