IAS Gyan

Daily News Analysis


23rd July, 2022 Polity and Governance

Copyright infringement not intended

In News

  • The Prime Minister of India has appealed to all the citizens to hoist the National Flag of India in Homes between 13th-15th August to show support for the ‘Har Ghar Tiranga’ Movement.

Indian Flag

  • The National flag of India is a rectangular tricolour of;
    • India Saffron
    • White
    • India Green.
  • The Flag has Ashoka Chakra, a 24-spoke wheel, in navy blue at its centre.
  • The National flag was adopted by the Constituent Assembly in 1947, and it became the official flag of India on 15 August 1947.
  • The National flag is based on the Swaraj flag, a flag of the Indian National Congress designed by Pingali Venkayya.
  • Usage of the flag is governed by the Flag Code of India 2002 and other laws relating to the national emblems.

Flag Code of India 2002

  • Earlier, the display of the National flag was governed by the provisions of The Emblems and Names (Prevention of Improper Use) Act, 1950 and the Prevention of Insults to National Honour Act, 1971.
    • The Flag Code of India, 2002, compiled all the earlier laws, conventions, practices and instructions related to National Flag.
  • The Flag Code of India took effect on January 26, 2002.
    • It is a set of laws, practices and conventions for the display of the National flag.
  • The code has been divided into 3 parts;
    • Part I - General description of the National flag.
    • Part II - About the display of the National flag by members of public and private organisations, educational institutions, etc.
    • Part III - Related to the display of the National flag by Governments and their organisations and agencies.
  • According to the Flag Code of India 2002, there shall be no restriction on the display of the National Flag by the general public, private organizations, educational institutions etc, if they show dignity and honour for the National Flag.
  • Description of the National Flag under the Flag code;
    • The Colour of the top panel shall be Saffron (Kesari).
    • The Colour of the bottom panel shall be Green.
    • The middle panel Colour shall be White.
    • Ashoka Chakra in navy blue colour with 24 equally spaced spokes in the middle panel.
  • Khadi or hand-spun cloth shall be the only material allowed to be used for the National flag, and a flag made of any other material is punishable by law with imprisonment up to 3 years, and also a fine.
  • Paper Flags should not be discarded or thrown on the ground. As far as possible, it should be disposed of in private with dignity.
  • The privilege of flying the National flag on vehicles is restricted to:
    • The President, Vice-President, Governors and Lieutenant governors of the Indian States and Union Territories.
    • Heads of Indian missions/ posts abroad in other countries.
    • Prime Minister and other Cabinet Ministers; Ministers of State and Deputy Ministers of the Union.
    • Chief Minister and other Cabinet Ministers of a State or Union Territory; Ministers of State and Deputy Ministers of a State or Union Territory.
    • Speaker of the Lok Sabha; Deputy Chairman of the Rajya Sabha; Deputy Speaker of the Lok Sabha.
    • Chairman of Legislative Councils in States; Speakers of Legislative Assemblies in States and Union Territories.
    • Chief Justice of India; Judges of Supreme Court; Chief Justice of High Courts; Judges of High Courts.
  • The Supreme Court bench has said that under Article 19(1)(a) of the Indian Constitution, citizens had the fundamental right to fly the National flag on their premises throughout the year, provided the premises do not undermine the dignity of the national flag.


https://epaper.thehindu.com/Home/ArticleViewNational Flag Adoption Day: The Tribune India