IAS Gyan

Daily News Analysis

Digital Markets Act (DMA)

14th September, 2023 International Relations

Disclaimer: Copyright infringement not intended.


  • The European Union recently passed the Digital Markets Act (DMA) that goes into effect in the first quarter of 2024.

Digital Markets Act (DMA)


  • Digital Markets Act (DMA), is an EU regulation that aims to make the digital economy fairer and more contestable.


  • The DMA intends to ensure a higher degree of competition in European digital markets.
  • It will do so by preventing large companies from abusing their market power and by allowing new players to enter the market.
  • The Commission aims to guarantee a fair level of competition ("level playing field") on the highly concentrated digital European markets.


  • The main objective of this regulation is to regulate the behaviour of the Big Tech firms within the European Single Market and beyond.

Target Platforms

  • This regulation targets the largest digital platforms operating in the European Union.
  • They are also known as "gatekeepers" due to the "durable" market position in some digital sectors.
  • Also, they meet certain criteria related to the number of users, their turnovers, or capitalization.
  • Twenty-two services across six companies - Alphabet, Amazon, Apple, ByteDance, Meta, and Microsoft - are named as "gatekeepers" by the EU.

List of Obligations

  • Prohibition on combining data collected from two different services belonging to the same company (e.g. Facebook and WhatsApp;
  • Protection of platforms' business users (including advertisers and publishers);
  • Legal instruments against the self-preferencing methods used by platforms for promoting their own products;
  • Articles concerning the pre-installation of some services;
  • Regulation related to bundling practices;
  • Provisions for ensuring interoperability, portability, and access to data for businesses and end-users of platforms.

In case of non-compliance, there will be enforced sanctions mechanisms, including fines of up to 10% of the worldwide turnover.

Sector Coverage

DMA Covers eight different sectors, which it refers to as Core Platforms Services (CPS):

  1. Online search engines (e.g. Google search);
  2. Online intermediation services (e.g. Google play store, apple's app store);
  3. Social networks (e.g. Facebook);
  4. Video sharing platforms (e.g. Youtube);
  5. Communication platforms (e.g. Whatsapp, gmail);
  6. Advertising services (e.g. Google ads);
  7. Operating systems (e.g. Android, ios);
  8. Cloud services (e.g. Amazon Web Services).





Q. How many of the following sectors are covered under the European Union’s Digital Market Act?

1.Video sharing platforms (e.g. Youtube);

2.Communication platforms (e.g. Whatsapp, Gmail);

3.Advertising services (e.g. Google ads);

4.Operating systems (e.g. Android, ios);

How many of the above are correct?

A) Only 1

B) Only 2

C) All 3

D) All Four

Answer: D) All Four